Library cards are available free of charge when an Online Borrower Registration Form is filled out, then verified in person with the required documentation. A parent or legal guardian must verify the account of a juvenile cardholder, 17 years or younger. To get a library card:
A photo will be taken of the account holder at the time of registration- library cards are non-transferable, and only the account holder pictured may use the card. Either your library card or Texas ID is required for all transactions concerning library books and materials. Each registered borrower assumes full responsibility for the materials and fines charged to the card.
Library cards are valid for one year from sign-up date. If a library card is expired, it will prevent checkout or renewal of items. In order to renew the library card, patrons must:
Limits exist for all library materials that you may borrow. For instance, you may borrow up to 6 eBooks from http://bit.ly/mplebooks with an MPL card and PIN #. Borrowers may have a total of up to 50 items on their card at one time.
Books (hardbacks or paperbacks)
50 per card
DVDs / Blu-Rays
6 per card
Music CDs, audiobooks on CD
4 per card
WiFi Hotspots *
1 per household
*WiFi Hotspots: Borrower must be 17 years & older with a valid MPL card, provide current government issued ID, and a recent utility bill (within 90 days) with a physical address from McAllen, Texas. Available at Main Library only.
**Video Games: Borrower must be 17 years & older and have a library card in good standing from any library that is part of the Hidalgo County Library System (HCLS).
***Job Fair in a Bag: Borrower must be 18 years & older with a valid MPL card in good standing. A photocopy of Texas Drivers' License or Texas ID to be kept on file for the duration of the loan. An out of state Drivers' License or Identification will need to be approved by a Supervisor for checkout.
Fines apply as listed below. Overdue notices are sent for items 30 days overdue. Borrowing privileges will be blocked if fines equal $3.00 or more. Patrons will be billed for items not returned. If an item is not returned in 30 days, the item is considered lost and full replacement cost is charged to the patron.
$0.10 per day
$0.50 per day
$1.00 per day
*eBooks automatically expire from your device at end of loan period.
The Library will accept the following forms of payment for fines accrued:
Items checked out from any library location may be returned to any library location. If, for instance, you checked out a book at the Palm View Branch Library, you are free to return it at the Main Library or Lark Branch, whichever location is most convenient for you.
There is a book drop accessible from the exterior of all library locations.
You have access to your personal library account by clicking “My Account."
When will my item automatically renew?
The system will attempt to renew your borrowed items on the due date. If unsuccessful, you will continue to receive notices about due dates or overdue status, and you may try to renew again any time before you return the item.
How will I know if my item was renewed?
You can check your due dates:
If your item was eligible for renewal, your new due date will be calculated based on the original due date. For example, you can borrow a movie for 7 days. If the movie was originally due on January 1, the new due date when it renews will be January 7.
Can I try to renew my ineligible items after an unsuccessful attempt?
Yes. The system will automatically attempt to renew your borrowed item on the due date. If unsuccessful, you may try again any time before you return the item. If another customer’s hold prevented your item from renewing, and was subsequently cancelled or filled by another copy after the system’s automatic attempt, you may manually renew the item at a later date.
Why didn’t my items renew?
Items won’t be renewed if:
*Learning and Lit kits are not eligible for renewals.
Can I renew my items early?
Can I opt out of the auto-renewal feature?
No. If you do not wish to keep the item for longer, you are welcome to return items at any time.
What will the library do to encourage others to return items?
The library still requires that our customers return items on time and in good shape so that the entire community will benefit. These changes will make it easier to be responsible and for customers to keep the items they enjoy for longer. In addition, customers with an item 30 days overdue will be billed for the replacement cost and will be unable to check out or renew items until resolved. Customers will still be held financially responsible for lost and damaged items.
What are the benefits of this feature?
This feature will save you time and give you peace of mind. You will no longer receive a bill for items that are eligible for renewal. Automatically renewing two days before the original due date ensures that you will have time to return items that are ineligible for renewal before they are overdue.
You may place a hold on an item free of charge by logging into your account through the online catalog and locating the item through the catalog’s search engine. You may have up to 10 items on hold at a time.
If you need help with our hold services, please contact the library location where you intend to pick up the item.